of Retail Druggists hereby condemns most vigorously the practice of those wholesale dealers and manufacturers in the drug field who have needlessly advanced the price of many of the products they supply."

The officers elected for the ensuing year were :---

President-Samuel C. Henry.

First Vice-President-A. S. Ludwig.

Second Vice-President-W. L. Humphrey.

Third Vice-President-T. C. Coltman.

Treasurer-Grant W. Stevens.

Secretary-Thomas H. Potts.

Executive Committee :---C. H. Huhn, J. F.

Finneran, R. J. Frick, T. S. Armstrong, M. A. Stout, J. P. Crowley.

The Women's Organization of the Association was welcomed by Mrs. William E. Lee, President of the local chapter, and a response was made by Mrs. Jessie F. Waterhouse, President of the Women's Organization. Then, following an address by the President, and the receiving of committee reports, it was announced that a scholarship had been founded for the study of pharmacy. The recipient of the free tuition will be chosen by the organization's executive committee from a list of candidates presented to the committee by the various chapters. The committee is also empowered to choose the college to which the scholarship will apply.

The Women's Organization elected the following officers :---

President-Mrs. F. E. McBride.

Vice-Presidents-Mrs. B. A. C. Hoelzer, Miss Clara Hulskamp, Mrs. A. W. Panly, Miss Nora V. Brendle, Mrs. R. G. Rutherford.

Secretary-Mrs. Nellie F. Lee.

Treasurer-Mrs. Otto C. Greenland.

Board of Directors :---Mrs. Jessie F. Waterhouse, Mrs. L. O. Wallace, Mrs. S. A. Eckstein, Mrs. Louis Emanuel, Mrs. John T. Roe, Mrs. W. E. Warn, Mrs. Charles Brunstrom, Mrs. H. A. Pierce.



THE COLLEGE OF PHARMACY OF THE UNIVERSITY OF IOWA.

The College was represented at the annual convention of the A. Ph. A. at Detroit by Dean W. J. Teeters, Prof. R. A. Kuever, Prof. Zada M. Cooper. Dean Teeters was reelected secretary of the Conference of Pharmaceutical Faculties, and was also nominated a candidate for the presidency of the Association for the year 1914-1915, which vote will be taken by mail.

Prof. Cooper was elected an Associate in the Section on Education and Legislation, and Prof. Kuever was elected secretary of the same section for the ensuing year.

Dean Teeters visited with relatives at Alliance, Ohio, for a few days following the A. Ph. A. meeting at Detroit.

Prof. Zada M. Cooper visited at Cleveland and Wooster, Ohio, for a short time after the convention at Detroit.

The third annual home-coming will be October 22, 23, 24, at the time of the Iowa-Minnesota football game.

## <>

## A NEW DEPARTMENT OF PHAR-MACY.

In response to the request of the West Virginia State Pharmaceutical Association the Board of Regents of West Virginia University has established a department of pharmacy.

A two, three, and four year course is offered. The two year course leading to the certificate of Graduate in Pharmacy, provides the foundation in Pharmacognosy and Pharmacy, and the ground work in Analytical Chemistry as applied in the drug business and required for various manufacturing purposes. The third year is especially designed to enable the Pharmacist to practice Urinary, Bacteriological, and Toxicological analysis for the physician and to act as Food and Drugs Chemist either for the U.S. Government or for private corporations. It will be arranged to award the degree of Bachelor of Science (in Pharmacy) to those completing the course of four years, including studies in mathematics, physics, language and science, as well as the entire pharmaceutical work of the two year course. All subjects are taught by men who are specialists in their respective branches.

Professor Charles H. Rogers has been called to establish and also be the head of the department. Previous to his election to his present position he was a member of the faculty of the College of Pharmacy of the University of Minnesota.